Weight Lost, Hope Gained…by Emily

Sharing the Hope found after WLS!

Oh, the many things I am Thankful for… November 25, 2010

Filed under: My Story....ever changing! — Weight Lost Hope Gained @ 5:09 PM

I wrote this in a note on Facebook in March of this year and found it fitting for today as the many things I am thankful for! I hope you enjoy it!

Just wanted to share my heart with you all.

I thank God each day for making me fat. I thank God everyday for making me 270 pounds, with joint problems, acid reflux, shortness of breath when I walked to the end of the drive way to get my mail, and high blood pressure. I thank God everyday for my snoring at night that led to restless leg syndrome…that led to anxiety and depression….and a HANDFUL of pills that had to be popped everyday of my life just to keep going. I thank God everyday for my low self-esteem that plagued my life for most of my life. I thank God for the fact that I couldn’t sit like a lady because my legs wouldn’t cross over one another. I thank God for the fact that I could barely reach my butt to wipe (my arms are only so long). I thank God for every stretch mark on my thighs and stomach due to being fat.

You are probably wondering why I would thank God for all of that?? Well I can tell you why. If it wasn’t for ALL the things mentioned above I wouldn’t have had surgery, I wouldn’t have you all, and I wouldn’t have this blog. I wouldn’t have been able to be blessed beyond measure DAILY by your friendships. I wouldn’t have made the decision to have surgery. I wouldn’t have been able to truly learn who I am as a person. I wouldn’t have learned how to truly live life to the fullest with the BEST friends anyone could ever have. I wouldn’t have learned what it truly means to Live and NOT just exist. Each and every one of you have taught me something new about myself that I never knew before. Some of you have held my hand through tears and lent me a shoulder to cry on. Some of you have talked me off the ledge when I want to eat my kitchen (yes I struggle with that too). Some of you have been there for me for my life outside of my Bariatric life. You all have inspired me to be a better person. I truly thank God everyday for ALL the ugly that I have been through because I have you all and the new friendships I am forming everyday. I am a perfect of example of the fact that we may not understand God’s reasoning for things in our lives but if we be still and know that He is worthy and able to do great things in our lives we WILL BE BLESSED BEYOND WORDS just as I have been! I love you all from the bottom of my heart!

I hope everybody has had a blessed Thanksgiving with family and friends.

In HIS Grip,

Emily

 

8 Responses to “Oh, the many things I am Thankful for…”

  1. Bill Alexander Says:

    Wow, that says so much. I hate to say, I am happy you were in that you were led down that path too, but if you hadn’t, then many of us would not have had the opportunity to have you as part of our lives either. We all have so much to be thankful for, even if it looked like a real downer at the time. God is truly in control, and even when we make the wrong choices, he is able to nudge us back onto the right path, if we are only willing to listen and follow. Thank you for being you and for what you have done for all of us. And a very big, special thank you to Edwin and your family, for allowing you to be there for all of us when we need that little encouragement.

  2. Meagen Says:

    Emily, your site is fantastic! A great resource and ‘toolkit’ for all. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to view and learn from you! You are an extrodinary gift to all who have the pleasure to know and learn from you.T

  3. So glad I found you and I linked you today! Awesome stuff as I knew it would be.
    hugs, Yvonne

    • Thanks so much for that Yvonne! I am inspired by you, you encourage me to find the positive in this walk and to BELIEVE in my self and others! Thanks so much for stopping by, I am still trying to get the hang of it (the looks), not quite what I want it to be yet BUT at least I know how to sit down and write! Haha! THAT is the important part right?!?! 😉

      Hugs to you my friend,

      Emily

      • Thank you Emily. You are BEAUTIFUL inside and out. You encourage me as well. As I have said…hang with the winners and fly with the eagles girlfriend! We are stronger if we all hang together and support each other for a stronger journey. Everything looks just fine and you’re right…all you have to do is sit down and write. Hugs right back at cha! Yvonne

  4. Yvonne, I sat down what seemed like ALL day and really thought about and wrote my WHOLE story for the book that Connie and Toni are doing for the WLFSA. Connie said it needed to be 5 pages or less and I already told Connie it is ALL of 5 pages! 😉 So needless to say today was a journey back in time some of it hurt and took me back to times that were dark in my life but in retospect make me who I am today so I still count all the messy “stuff” as a blessing to my life but boy did I have to travel far (and am still traveling) to get to where I am today. Thanks again, you will hear me say it over and over because I can’t say it enough, for the support you have given me in this leg of the race!

    XOXO,

    Em


Leave a Reply

