Weight Lost, Hope Gained…by Emily

Sharing the Hope found after WLS!

Worrying is like a rocking chair… November 29, 2010

Filed under: Inspiration — Weight Lost Hope Gained @ 10:54 AM

From the amazing book “Calm my Anxious Heart” by Linda Dillow comes the quote “Worrying is like rocking a chair, –it gives you something to do but it doesn’t get you anywhere.” This is so true and I must admit that somedays I believe it and find comfort in it and somedays I am curled up in that chair in the fetal position just rocking away hoping to get somewhere by doing so.

I stop and think about the things I worry about and truth be told most it never comes to pass. “Will we make it to Mom’s ok without a blow out?”, “Will I get through a social gathering where there are some people that are not on the same page as me in the way we think about certain things?”, “Will I ever make it to my desitination on time?”–you get the picture. How much of our lives do we miss because we’re agonizing over what might happen down the road? I know that the things I listed are futile and small but worrying is worrying period. I know that we must be prepared for the things to come but we shouldn’t always *expect* it for our lives. We should be armed with knowledge and positive coping mechanisms *if* such things should arise instead of worrying and *waiting-for-such-things-to-happen* our lives away. Worrying and pondering the “what if’s” of our future doesn’t solve any impending problems. It only paralyzes your actions of the present. It stresses you out, makes you mentally and physically tired, and saps all the fun out of what could have been another great day. Next time you start to worry about what might happen, think of this: You can prepare, but you cannot predict. So do what you can and forget what you cannot. Life is too short to worry about the what if’s!

XOXO,

Emily

 

2 Responses to “Worrying is like a rocking chair…”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    Good one, Em! 🙂


Leave a Reply

